My Trip to Herkimer

Names have been changed except in cases where I couldn’t think of a cool nickname, so I just give the relationship. And Miss Lizzie better thank me for not using the nickname the brothers gave her! 🙂

I love day-trippin’, as I said in the previous post. Yesterday was a blast!

This was a family trip – 11 people total – and we started the day at 730am with breakfast at Gramma and Grampa’s. Eggs, sausage, Belgian waffles, French toast, three different kinds of muffins.

Once everyone had eaten their fill, it was time to put butts in seats.

As you can imagine, with 11 people, seating arrangements were a priority. I figured I’d be driving something, but I didn’t expect to get to drive the new business truck — a Mitsubishi Fuso. I was only driving it as far as Binghamton though, to drop it off to the dealer-authorized repair shop. Made Miss Lizzie (sister #2) ride with me, since I’d never driven it before and because, in case something went wrong, I’d have moral support. Which turned out to be a good thing.

PK drove the van, a Dodge Sprinter, and Grampa drove the Avalon. Owen (the nephew) rode with Grampa in the car, while Miss M, Pierce (the niece), PK’s girlfriend Memphis, along with Gramma, the step-sis, and the step-sis’s boyfriend rode in the van.

The plan was simple – once we reached Binghamton, PK would continue on I-81 while Grampa and I made a three-mile detour to drop off the Fuso. We’d catch up in no time.

Everything’s going nice and smooth. The Fuso is a freakin’ joy to drive. And then…

Continue reading