Easy Meals

Want to make a nice dinner, but short on time? That’s why the Goddess sent us crockpots! Plus, you can make a great meal without turning on the oven.

Doing most of the prep work a day ahead makes it even easier.

Crockpot Pot Roast

Ingredients:
2-3lb chuck or round roast
1/2-1 bag baby carrots
2 small onions, peeled and cut into quarters
1 can of diced tomatoes
4-6 small potatoes
2 cloves garlic, chopped fine
2 packets beef gravy mix
6 tsp. kosher or sea salt for roast prep [Don’t panic!]
2 c. water
Pepper to taste

The day before:
Cut onions into quarters, dice the tomatoes, finely chop the garlic. Place in (separate) ziplock bags and refrigerate till tomorrow.

Again, don’t panic, but use all the kosher/sea salt to cover the roast on all sides. Add to another ziplock bag and leave overnight. (I know. It sounds crazy, but it gives you incredible fork-tender meats and poultry. More on this below.)

The morning of:
In the crockpot, add gravy mix, 1 c. water, pepper, and garlic. Then add veggies, except onions and tomatoes. Set crockpot to “low.”

Remove the roast from its plastic prison, rinse well, and pat dry. Brown the roast on all sides. (Don’t forget the edges!). Stick in the crockpot, on top of the veggies. Tuck onion quarters around the roast. Add 1/2c. water. Cover and ignore until about 30 minutes before dinner time.

30 minutes before:
Add in the can of diced tomatoes. Cover and ignore again while you set the table, check email, yell at the kids or whatever it is you do after work.

20 minutes before:
Remove veggies. Plate the roast and let sit a few minutes before carving.

Dinnertime!

Servings: Feeds my family with a little less than half of the roast leftover – which is usually made into vegetable beef soup or hot beef sandwiches the next day. We’re carrot-lovin’ freaks, so we use the whole bag, but most people will only use half.

– – –

Okay, now you’re saying to yourself, “Salt as a tenderizer?! What?!” Yup. I read this at Steamy Kitchen and thought the same thing.

But hey – what won’t I try to tenderize those cheap cuts I’ve been buying? Plus SK’s post had cool hand-drawn pictures explaining the how and why.

Still, trying it is one thing; ruining an entire roast is a whole other. So, I cut a slice off a round roast I had and covered it with a teaspoon or two of kosher salt. I let it sit for about half an hour and then rinsed it, patted dry, and made a mini stir-fry with some leftover veggies. Oh. My. Gosh! Literally “melt in your mouth.”

It works for pork and poultry, and I suspect it will work great for venison as well.

7 Responses

  1. Yum! Only one comment on the prep: I hates me some mushy carrots, so I tend to add them later in the cycle. Nonretired cook’s mileage may vary-LOL.

  2. I have mushy-carrot fans in my house. (Srsly – they mash them like taters. *shudder*)

    Non-mushy carroteers would probably prefer adding the carrots for the last three or four hours.

  3. This is what I made yesterday:

    in a cast iron skillet, brown pork steaks

    while browning, take a can of mushroom soup and mix with half can of water, add some kitchen bouquet, a dash’ll do ya

    add to the pan with the steaks, cover, reduce heat to low, give it a couple of hours-no hurry

    in a sauce pan, sweat some diced onion and some bacon chopped into small pieces, dump the grease, add a can or two of green beans and some potatoes cut into chunks-simmer a while till the spuds are soft

    the pork should be fork tender, if the gravy is thin, reduce a little uncovered or add some thickener-i use corn starch

    prep time-hah, maybe five minutes, takes a few hours to get to fork tender on the pork

  4. Yummmmmm! You’ve got good timing, jeff. I just put some pork steaks in the fridge to defrost for tomorrow’s supper and was wondering what to do to them.

    I love Kitchen Bouquet. It’s my “secret ingredient” in a lot of dishes, especially for getting a dark, magazine-perfect brown gravy.

  5. I am a vegetarian and I have found tons of easy meals but what about quick easy meals for vegetarians? Email me if you would at guywithhats AT yahoo DOT com

    [Edited to annoy the spambots — Jenn]

  6. David: I’m honestly the wrong person to help you with easy vegetarian meals, since I’m an unabashed, unapologetic omnivore. LOL

    But, through the magic of Google, here’s a few sites you can try:

    Quick and Easy Cooking: International Vegetarian recipes

    The Veggie Table Quick Vegetarian recipes (A huge list of yummy recipes!)

    VegWeb

    Quick and Easy Vegetarian Recipes at AllRecipes.com

  7. Thanks and for the record I don’t think there is anything wrong with eating meat its just not for me

Leave a comment